La Flèche Wallonne Preview

The La Flèche Wallonne was created to boost the sales of a newspaper Les Sports during the 1930s and was first run in 1936 where Philemon Demeersman from Belgium won the first race.

The La Flèche Wallonne has since developed into a real classic and consistently attracts some of the biggest names in cycling.

The event was first run on roads from Tournai to Liège – growing from 236 km to 300 km — its longest ever distance — in 1938.

Since 1990, the race distance has not exceeded 210 km.

Only four riders have won the race three times, two of them Belgians and two Italians.

The last three years has been a Spanish affair where Joaquim Rodriguez (2012), Daniel Moreno (2013) and Alejandro Valverde (2014) raced to glory.

Cadel Evans (2010) was the last non-European winner while he also remains the only Australian to have tasted victory at the event.

The race will be televised on SuperSport 8 on Wednesday from 14:20.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »