Vote Now for World Sevens Player of the Year

After falling short to Fiji in the HSBC Sevens World Series following an amazing 2014/15 season, the Springbok Sevens team received some great news when Werner Kok and Seabelo Senatla were shortlisted with Fiji speedster Semi Kunatani for the 2015 World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year Award in association with HSBC.

The trio was nominated after they were voted by the management teams of the 15 core sides who compete at all nine rounds of the World Series.

Werner Kok, who only made his debut in London last season, has been instrumental in South Africa’s performances in all nine of the 2014-15 tournaments. Having claimed two player of the tournament awards in both Dubai and Hong Kong, Kok has played a vital role for South Africa, most notably in their Cup win on home soil in Port Elizabeth, and as the Blitzboks became the first side to confirm qualification for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio. Kok ended the season as the leading tackler of all players.

Semi Kunatani has been impressive in both attack and defence for Ben Ryan’s Fiji side in all of their Cup titles this season, finishing the season as one of the leading tacklers and try scorers (40). Having made his debut in Dubai last season, the Fijian has earned a contract with French club Toulouse for next season, but Coach Ryan will have him available for four tournaments next season, and the Olympics, should he be selected.

Seabelo Senatla who is the youngest of the three nominees ended the season as the leading try scorer with 47 tries and has scored two of this year’s fans’ favourites, as well as scoring in each of South Africa’s Cup final victories in Dubai and Port Elizabeth. His blistering pace has been one of the talking points of the season, with few able to catch him when he is in full flight.

To vote for your 2015 Sevens Player of the Year candidate click HERE

The three players are the first World Rugby Award nominees to be announced in 2015 with all awards being presented at the World Rugby Awards dinner following the Rugby World Cup 2015 final in England.

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year – Roll of Honour:
2014 – Samisoni Viriviri, Fiji
2013 – Tim Mikkelson, New Zealand
2012 – Tomasi Cama, New Zealand
2011 – Cecil Afrika, South Africa
2010 – Mikaele Pesamino, Samoa
2009 – Ollie Phillips, England
2008 – DJ Forbes, New Zealand
2007 – Afeleke Pelenise, New Zealand
2006 – Uale Mai, Samoa
2005 – Orene Ai’i, New Zealand
2004 – Simon Amor, England

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »