Continental’s Dream Team for 2016 Corporate Triathlon Challenge

Continental Tyre South Africa (CTSA) is fielding its largest and most competitive line-up of athletes yet in the Vodacom Algoa FM Corporate Thriathlon Challenge, which takes place in Port Elizabeth on Saturday 9 April 2016.

The Continental ‘dream team’ comprises 30 three-person teams, along with nine of the country’s top triathletes, as they aim to dominate this year’s event that comprises a 380 m sea swim, an 18 km cycle and a 4.2 km beachfront run.

“The Corporate Triathlon Challenge, which forms part of the Standard Bank Ironman weekend in Port Elizabeth, provides a fantastic showcase for the outstanding breadth of talent we have in this city in terms of athletes,” says Ryan Visagie, Brand Manager for CTSA.

The line-up of sportsmen and women competing in Continental colours is simply exceptional, including multiple triathlon series champions, full and half Ironman podium finishers, along with top contenders in the World Triathlon series, the Olympics and Commonwealth Games.

“With a bigger effort and the exceptional depth of athletes we have competing for Continental this year, we are aiming to dominate the individual race once again and improve our team result, with our target being the top step of the podium in both events,” Visagie says.

This objective will certainly be aided by the fact that 10 of the Continental teams set off in Wave 1, which starts at 07h50 from Hobie Beach, ensuring that they are amongst the front of the pack. The remaining 20 teams start in Wave 2 that begins at 08h05.

Last year, Continental competed with 20 teams and nine individual athletes, finishing 6th overall on corrected time in the team event after starting in the second wave. The Continental-sponsored athletes totally dominated the podium for the men’s individual race, and claimed the top two places in the women’s event.

Liza Kingston, who won the women’s event last year, is back to defend her title, and is a multiple triathlon series champion and World Triathlon contestant for South Africa.

In the men’s race, last year’s winner, Clinton Gravett, will not be defending his title, which leaves 7 race-hungry Continental athletes in contention for the 2016 title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »