SA’s Top Bloggers Are Warming Up For The MRPSport BlogOlympics 2014


Twenty-four of South Africa’s most influential sports and lifestyle bloggers and online personalities are preparing themselves for the second edition of the MRPSport BlogOlympics which will take place at Durban’s Moses Mabhida Stadium on Thursday 23 October. Following on from the success of last year’s event, a day of fun and action has been planned under the iconic arch.

The BlogOlympics will see the participants competing in a series of eight events for individual and team prizes using the MRPSport ProMaster range of recreational games and gadgets currently available in MRPSport stores. These include the Afrisak, the Waboba Ball, the Zooper Ball and the Super Frisbee. Each of the ProMaster games have been included in events that will test the BlogOlympians’ skills in various disciplines, while bringing a light-hearted element to the competition.

The twenty-four bloggers will be divided into three teams representing their regions – Durban, Joburg and The Cape – with Team Cape focused on defending their 2013 team title. “The MRP Sport BlogOlympics is a one of a kind, and a great way for bloggers from all over the country to meet each other and compete in a friendly but competitive environment. I love it,” says Ryan Wallace of “Last year Team Cape Town were a little slow out of the blocks but pulled back right at the end to win. This year we’ll be going at it right from the start. I back us to take the title again this year.”

The first event is scheduled to be held on the field under the Moses Mabhida Stadium arch at 9am on Thursday 23 October, and will provide the perfect backdrop for BlogOlympics. Nikki Viljoen, Marketing Executive at MRP Sport, says, “We are thrilled to be hosting the BlogOlympics at Moses Mabhida Stadium – Durban’s most iconic sporting landmark. The BlogOlympics offers the bloggers the perfect platform to meet and compete, and to experience the fun of the ProMaster games.”

Viljoen says that the event has attracted some great sponsors, including Tsogo Sun, Mercedes Benz Umhlanga, Moses Mabhida Stadium and The Mercury, and with individual and team BlogOlympian prizes and titles up for grabs, the event promises to be a lot of fun.

The 2014 MRPSport BlogOlympics Competitors

Representing Durban
Amith Gosai        
Sandile Nene      
Natalie Jay                   @NJDbnRocks
Andrew Carrie              Instagram aficionado: @AndyCarrie_on
Gordon Reid                @GordsReid
Jonas Barausse 
Jane Killian        
Fathima Kathrada

Representing The Cape
Dylan Moore     
Sipho Holngwane       @ComradeSipho
Emma Jackson 
Matthew Nepgen
Kathryn Rossiter
Ryan Wallace    
Natasha Clark   
Yethu Mtshali    

Representing Johannesburg
Kirsty Bisset       
Jacques Henning
Lelo Boyana       
Tanya Kovarsky  /
Kate Nokwe       
Neil Morrison               @neilmorrison
Ayabonga Ngoma
Chris Maider       /

To keep up to date with the Mr Price Sport BlogOlympic developments, visit the MRPSport Facebook Page – – and click LIKE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »