Connect with us


UEFA Announce Nominees for Team of the Year

The Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) recently announced the nominees of this year’s fans’ Men’s Team of the Year. The list comprises 50 players including forwards, defenders, goalkeepers, and midfielders from different leagues. Germany, France, and the United Kingdom have the highest number of nominees. Many soccer fans wager on these players at Betway. Read on to learn about the 2020 fans’ Men’s Team of the Year.

The UEFA Champions League and Europa League

Last season, the last-eight clubs in the Europa League and Champions League competed in a mini-tournament. RB Leipzig and Atalanta shocked many soccer enthusiasts when they passed the last-16 stage. Renowned bookmakers like Betway gave RB Leipzig high odds when they reached the UEFA Champions League semi-finals after thrashing Atletico Madrid 2-1 in the quarterfinals.

Bayern Munich and Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) played in the final and Bayern won by one goal. Surprisingly, the German giants have the largest number of nominees in this year’s Team of the Year. These include talented players like Alphonso Davies, David Alaba, and Manuel Neuer.

English Premier League Nominees

Chelsea signed Kai Havertz and Thiago Silva a few months ago. Both players made it to UEFA’s list of nominees. Bruno Fernandes will represent Manchester United and Kevin De Bryune is the only Manchester City player on the list. Liverpool has eight players including Trent Alexander-Arnold and Jordan Henderson.

Nominees from Other European Leagues

Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Sevilla are top La Liga clubs with several nominees. PSG is the leading France Ligue 1 team with the most candidates. They include Kylian Mbappe and Neymar. Lionel Messi is the second player with the highest number of nominations after Cristiano Ronaldo. He has appeared on the nominees’ list 15 times. Thiago Silva is the most experienced player while Erling Haaland and Alphonso Davies are the youngest candidates.

UEFA’s Nominees of the 2020 Team of the Year

  • Midfielders: Kai Havertz (Chelsea/Bayer Leverkusen), Hossem Aouar (Lyon),Thiago Alcantara (Liverpool/Bayern Munich), Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan), Ever Banega (Al-Shabab/Sevilla), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich), Josip Ilicic (Atalanta), Papu Gomez (Atalanta),Jordan Henderson(Liverpool), Marcel Sabitzer (RB Leipzig), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich) and Marquinhos (PSG)
  • Goalkeepers: Anthony Lopes (Lyon), Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Keylor Navas (PSG), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), and Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
  • Defenders: Angelino (RB Leipzig), David Alaba (Bayern Munich), Juan Bernat (PSG),Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Hans Hateboer (Atalanta), Stefan de Vrij (Inter Milan), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Presnel Kimpembe(PSG), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich),Thiago Silva (Chelsea/PSG),Virgil van Disjk ( Liverpool), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool) and Dayot Upamecano (RB Leipzig)
  • Forwards: Angel di Maria (PSG), Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Serge Gnabry (Bayern Munich), Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Ciro Immobile( Lazio), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan),Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Kylian Mbappe (PSG), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Neymar (PSG), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City) and Mohamed Salah ( Liverpool)

Cristiano Ronaldo has been in the UEFA Team of the Year 14 times since 2007. Bayern Munich, Liverpool, and Paris Saint-Germain have more than 20 candidates in total. Unfortunately, Barcelona and Real Madrid only have one candidate each. Renowned players like Karim Benzema, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Jadon Sancho, Thibaut Courtois, Heung-min Son, and Timo Werner didn’t make it in the final nominees’ list. You can check the latest updates about the 2020 Team of the Year at Betway Insider.

Jacques is the founder & webmaster of and is a sports lover of note. He likes writing opinion pieces that matter.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »